A Day in the Life of a Dog


Ziggy relaxing in the sun at Breakers

Hi – my name is Ziggy.  I’m a German Shorthaired Pointer and I live at Breakers Boutique Accommodation on the Punakaiki Coastline, north of Greymouth.  I live here with my Mum and Dad and my big brother Nico (Dalmation).  This is a typical day in my life – I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Aaaaaahhhhhh, stretch, downward dog – some light is entering the room, it must almost be breakfast time.  Sneak into Mum and Dad’s bedroom – no movement from them, creep onto the bed and curl up in the nook of Mum’s leg.

Mum moves, my head pops up, maybe it is breakfast time……nope, she was just stretching and rolling over.  Ok, another little nap while I wait.  Warm and cosy up here.  I’ve moved now to snuggle between Mum and Dad.  Mum says I made a great contraceptive.  I’m not actually sure what that means, but she says I’m great so that’s all I care about!    mmmmmm, tummy is rumbling, time to give a little reminder that is must surely be my breakfast time, if I make a little whine, hhhmmmmm,  hhhhmmmm someone is bound to be aroused from their sleep….. hhhmmm, hhhhmmmm one more time……..

me with my brother Nico on our mat – waiting to go to breakfast

EXCELLENT, Mum is up, hhhuuuu, hhhhuuuu, hhhhhuuuuuuu,  very exciting, very exciting, feed me, feed me, feed me.  Grab my sleeping cushion and rush to the door in anticipation – ooops, first telling off for the day, back to my bed and drop the cushion, sorry – back to the door – yey, we’re out.  Gotta pee first – whew!!!!  Ok, come on, come on, rush inside as Mum picks up our bowls, follow her to the pantry – ooops, sorry, back outside to wait, hhhhhuuuuu, hhhhhuuuuu, hhhhhhuuuuu, very exciting, very exciting.  Sit, wait, ok – yahooo!!!!!   Chomp, chomp, chomp, chomp, chomp – gone.  Another pee, now let me back in please – great, thanks, out of the way – hi Dad, love you, curl up and back to sleep.

Mum is out of the shower – ok, we’re off to the kitchen.  I like to hang out in the kitchen while Mum does breakfast – just might get a little treat and besides I don’t like being left out of anything – just never know what you might miss out on – can’t have that!  Actually to tell you the truth, I really freak out at being left alone.  Nico my brother doesn’t mind at all – he is known as the mellow puff, nothing fazzes him – they refer to me as the little nutter.  I think that is a good thing – my folks always sound jovial when they say it – so it must be a good thing right!  Mum brings my bed through and I curl up in front of the kitchen door – my safe place on the mat and out of the way.

Dad arrives and gives me a pat – hmph, I’d rather have a piece of toast.  Sometimes if I’m really lucky I might get a little piece of toast or a bit of banana.  mmmm nothing coming my way this morning.  Getting restless, are the guests gone yet – I’ll sneak out and take a peak – ooops, sorry, back to my mat.

ooohhh, I hear the goodbyes, yey, they are gone, any toast left – great just a half piece – anything will do – thanks!

Mum and Dad are off to clean the rooms – the garden units first.  Yahoo, they might throw a stone for me.  Here’s one, just a little one, I’ll poke my head in the door and just drop it here for you.  Dad….. can you see it…… here let me move it closer for you……. Dad, can’t you see it – yahoo, got it, Dad here you go, yahoo………

ziggy with a stick on Nine Mile Beach, West Coast, NZ

Oooooohhhh even better, Mum’s putting her sandals on – sandals mean beach, sandals mean walk, sandals mean hhhhhhuuuuuuu, hhhhhhuuuuuu, hhhhhuuuuu, hhhhhuuuuu……. lets go, race you Nico, get out of the way I’m off, whooof, whoooof, whooof, whoof, look out……..   hey, where is everyone, I’m too fast, better go back up, there you are, whoof, whoof, come on, whoof, whoof……. this stick, this one, no this one, hang on, what about this one….. gosh, this is just so exciting – I’m very excited, oh so exciting, whoof, whoof, whoof – wahoo, I’ll get it, I’ll get it, whoof, whoof, stick in my mouth, ok throw some stones, yey, look how fast I can run, throw another, throw another, whew, mmm, Mum says that’s enough now.  That’s alright – hey Nico what are you sniffing, mmmm smells good, oh wait, Mum, throw me another stone, please, no, oh, ok, Nics – what you doing?  We’re turning back, race you – ha Nico, I’m going to get you, come on, race you to the house, come on……..  whew that was fun but I need a drink.   slurp, slurp, slurp, aaahh that’s better.  Oh hi Mum, yes please, I’d love a towel dry, aaaahhhh love it.

Nico and Ziggy asleep in the sun – can you see me

mmmmm, bit tired, might have a sleep.  Crashed, zzzzzz, zzzzzz, zzzzzzz…….. now APARENTLY me and Nico are EXTREMELY cute when we are curled up on our beds.  Nico is all legs and by all accounts manages to get himself in the most comfortable looking positions.  I have that knack sometimes but more often than not I prefer to be curled up on the sofa, wedged between Mum and Dad.  Generally during the day I have to stay on my bed though.  I don’t mind as I get to cuddle on the sofa in the evenings.  Sometimes I like to cuddle with Nico.  I used to do this all the time when I was younger but not so often now.

Dad is off to work and Nico is going with him today – I’m going to be the house dog.  Very important job you know!

Ziggy and Nico – fun in the creek

This afternoon Mum is mowing the lawns – great fun.  She is using the push mower – thankfully as I don’t really like the ride on – too noisey for me.  But the push mower is great – more play time.  I bring Mum a little stone and if I drop it just in front of the mower she has to move it or run it over – classic, works every time.  It’s quite hot today so I take occasional rests in the shade of the flax bushes or the toi-toi.  Thankfully we have a pond too, so if I get thirsty I just get a drink from there – sometimes I even stand in the pond although Mum isn’t usually that happy with me when I do that – I certainly aren’t allowed inside afterwards – not until I’ve dried out.  Of course, Plan B…… sometimes it warrants another trip to the beach for a dip in the creek to clean off.  These humans think they are so smart but sometimes we have them doing exactly what we want – sshhhh, don’t say anything though…..

Whew!  Exhausted now.  Dad’s home from work and he took Nico to the beach already so we’re all ready to have a rest before dinner.  Sun is pouring in the window so Nics and I have pride of place lying in the sun.

mmmm, tummy is rumbling, must be dinner time.  I always get quite excited at the prospect of getting fed – I think it drives Mum a little crazy and I don’t mean to be annoying but I just can’t help myself.  Sometimes I get so excited I try to wolf my food down but Mum pulls me back, gives me a little rub and lets me go – she does this a couple of times usually until I calm down.  Don’t know why I do that – not like anyone has even stolen my food – one of my many little idiosyncracies…. I’m cute though!

Spoilt Ziggy snuggling on the sofa with Uncle Gerard

Dinner is over and that’s pretty much my day now.  Back inside and up on the sofa snuggled between Mum and Dad.  Some might say I’m spoilt, I just think well loved.  Mum and Dad don’t always let me up on the sofa though, but with my extreme good looks and charm I usually get up there eventually.  Nico isn’t allowed on the sofa – not usually anyway.  Mum says he molts everywhere and leaves his fur all over the sofa – thankfully I don’t do that, although Nico enjoys his own bed and Mum says he has the real knack of making himself and his bed look really comfy – don’t know if I believe her, I’ll stick with the sofa thanks!  I might dream of some of our other adventures – maybe we’ll go mountain biking in the forest tomorrow, that is always fun – I can run really fast and there are some wonderful smells.

Almost time for lights out.  Both Nico and I get a little treat before Mum and Dad turn the light out – we are allowed to snuggle on their bed with them, just for a bit before we get wrapped in our blankets on our beds.  All in all a pretty good life – and that is a day in the life of me – Ziggy!  See you in the morning……..

Ziggy at four months old

Written by Ziggy Roberts from Breakers Boutique Accommodation – lucky enough to live on the Punakaiki coastline, just north of Greymouth.  Learn more about Ziggy and Nico and their adventures at Breakers.  This is me when I am only four months old – cute eh!

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in dogs, Mountain biking New Zealand, Nature, outdoors, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day in the Life of a Dog

  1. Pingback: A Day in the Life of a Dog | coastingnz

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    Love it… really do..love it..

  3. Rose Brighouse. says:

    Really love that story !! Would love to know where you got Ziggy from.Is there a breeder in the S.Island,he is gorgeous,but don’t let it go to his head !

Leave a Reply

