Jeddyboy – the original Breakers dog


Jeddyboy

This is a short memoir of my angel boy Jeddyboy.  Jed came with me for my move to the West Coast back in 2004.  We came on our own, not knowing a single soul.  Jed was my best friend, my angel.

Jedster

Jed and his mum

I have a great memory of the old fella.  He was a great lover of pigs ears – what dog isn’t right!  He also loved to hang out with me while I cleaned the guest rooms – lying in the sun or just in the doorway so he could see me.

jeddyboyThis particular morning I was busy cleaning away and thought to myself, that is strange where’s Jed.  I head outside and there he is…….. sitting on the lawn happy as can be……. he had found the bag of pigs ear – a bag of six and was already chowing down on pigs ear number 4!  I went over to him and he just looked up at me chewing away with the biggest grin on his face – total doggie heaven!!!  Classic little fella.

Unfortunately we had to say our final goodbyes to Jed in April 2008 – five years ago now and not a day goes by that I don’t think of him.

Jed

Love you Jeddyboy xoxo

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in dogs, German Shorthaired Pointer, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jeddyboy – the original Breakers dog

  1. scott2608 says:

    He sounds like a very special buddy.

  2. bulldog says:

    The companionship of a dog is indescribable.. they are such special shares from God to enliven our lives… yet when the go, it is such a heart break that I always find so difficult to get over… all my many dogs through my life are still so clear in my memories… the first present I got from my Dad when born was a dog.. he lasted till my 16th birthday.. I cried crocodile tears for that dog, yet so many years later I can remember all his little nuances and special moments… but your dog does look like a beautiful companion and friend, and it is right to miss him… lovely post today…

  3. coastingnz says:

    Such lovely words Bulldog – thank you. Jed broke my heart for sure. He was always with me – people would see Jeddyboy walking before they saw me! He was also my companion when out riding my bike, my snuggle buddy on the sofa and the odd cuddle in bed – very spoilt but a good boy all the same. We now have Nico our dalmatian and Ziggy – another GSP – a Jeddyboy look alike but completely different in character. They help ease the pain and spread the joy.

  4. rhonda says:

    What a beautiful dog and friend. I’m sorry for your loss. It’s like losing a child, in a way. I had to laugh about the pig ears. My dogs love those, too!

    • coastingnz says:

      Yes, it is little moments like those that help with the pain and bring the smile to my face. Remember that with your loss also – hard as it is, they are never forgotten.

Leave a Reply

