Shaking out the Cobwebs – a Spin up Rewanui Incline


viewpoint Strongman Mine Memorial Lookout

Whew – I’m officially pooped!  Don’t know what possesses me to do these things to myself sometimes – good for me you say, well maybe.  Remind me of that later…….

Stephen and I had a gap between cleaning and new guest arrivals – topped with an absolutely stunning day we decided to head out for a quick spin on our mountain bikes up the Rewanui Incline.  This is usually about an hour and a half bike ride return from home so nice way to shake out the cobwebs.

enjoying the views Strongman Mine Memorial

First hill – right outside our drive and my legs were going “what”!  We didn’t go far – just to the top for the Strongman Mine Memorial lookout and a quick bite of a sandwich as we hadn’t had our lunch yet.  The views from the lookout are stunning.  Of course we have stunning views from home but thought it would be nice to take advantage of the lookout and seating and do something different – even if only 2 minutes from home.  aaaahhh the things we do sometimes.

mtbing through the forest Rewanui

Rewanui Incline mtb trail

tunnel on Rewanui Incline

Onwards again as we have to bike along the main highway for about 6kms before we start the actual ride proper.  It isn’t single track, it is an old disused railway line heading up a valley to an old coal mining area so basically a gravel 4WD track.  Known as Rewanui Incline.  Incline – yes incline, so gentle meander up the valley.  I tell myself gentle but today it felt like a slog – and that as it turns out was with a tail wind.  Didn’t feel like a tail wind and I haven’t been out on the bike much lately so the legs were screaming at me.  Not happy, not happy at all.  Got to be good for me though eh!  Stephen just spins along – he makes it look like a doodle – easy peasy.

mountains on rewanui incline mtb trail

Finally the top is reached – our turn around point being a little creek where the incline finishes.  My feet were aching and I was stifling hot (yes that is a very red face you see) so off with the shoes and socks and just sat with feet dipped in the water to cool down.  Worked a treat too.

cooling the feet rewanui incline mtb ride

Time to head back down – the clouds are starting to accumulate over the mountains and there was rain forecast for the afternoon.  Didn’t think it would eventuate given the gorgeous conditions when we left but with the speed of the cloud coming in we might just have to rethink that.  Pretty sure I left all the windows open too – darn!

west coast vegetation rewanui incline

The ride back down the incline is way quicker than the ride up, still a bit of peddling but mostly just free-riding.  We do notice the head wind though and I’m like “great going to have to fight this for the last hill climb to home”.

Yep – I did and I was shattered to say the least.  Not ashamed to admit it – but home now, managed to beat the weather.  Glass of milk (helps revitalise you – honest it works!), shower and then some relaxation while waiting for the guests to arrive.  In all fairness it was nice to shake out the cobwebs even if I am moaning……  🙂

Jan and Stephen run Breakers Boutique Accommodation on the Great Coast Road north of Greymouth. They enjoy getting out and about and exploring the region. Check out their other postings for ideas on things to see and do or their Facebook page for photos of the region.

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in cycling, Mountain biking New Zealand, Nature, NZ flora and fauna, NZ history, outdoors, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shaking out the Cobwebs – a Spin up Rewanui Incline

  1. bulldog says:

    You really want something refreshing after a ride like that.?? Try half milk and half Ginger beer… works a charm… I have missed a post or two of yours and only realised it when this one appeared in my inbox, or have you been quiet…. I do love the views you have and have to be honest had a good laugh at that red face… Stephen must have had to reduce settings to capture that one…
    Linda and I have taken to walking nearly everyday, not for my good but hers.. she complains on long uphills when she is panting like the proverbial steam train why I’m not… I am also trying out this “Planking” thing everyone is raving about, thought it would be a breeze but have discovered it is a little tougher than I expected… but it has to be good for this old body…

    • coastingnz says:

      Stephen might be keen for your half and half but I don’t like ginger beer so will have to pass. Do enjoy my glass of milk though. Have done couple of other posts but you were away. Hope you’ve recovered after your accident – good to see you posting again. Red face….. bit embarrassing but I was hot! Nothing to do with being knackered…….
      Good on you and Linda for getting out walking – any exercise is good for you I think – tell myself that all the time while cleaning – running up and down stairs and doing the vacuuming – got to be good for me! As for the planking – you might have to expand a bit more on that – or perhaps some photos haha.

  2. G&B says:

    Having ridden “The Incline” a few times with you and, in particular Stephen, I know where you’re coming from, It’s a killer on a hot day especially when there’s no wind to aid in the cooling. It doesn’t look much when you ride up it but you certainly notice how “steep” it is coming down. But 2 minutes on the bikes before a “lunch break” ???? Good on you for getting out on the bike, I’ve been a bit slack lately and using the shoulder injury as an excuse is starting to wear bit thin. Time I got some motivation.

    • coastingnz says:

      Gets me every time – doesn’t seem to matter how fit or unfit I am. This time though was particularily hard – I’m still saying it was the heat though! It certainly didn’t help. Was nice to get out but could definitely do with a couple of laps of your track. Pain and fun – go for it – you can do it! 🙂

  3. G&B says:

    Yeah, but BAR ENDS ???? That’s SOOOOOO 1990’s !!!!!! Yuk, it’s like toe clips !!!! But, have to admit I did use bar ends back then, don’t know why, must have been the “in thing”, bit like “carbo loading”.

Leave a Reply

