Greymouth Rodders 40 Years 1973-2013 – Big Boys Toys Display


Jan and Bernie heading off on their Thelma and Louise adventure

(in the tune of the Beatles “Drive my Car”
Asked a girl what she wanted to be
She said, “Baby, can’t you see?
I wanna be famous, a star on the screen
But you can do something in between”

big boys toys (9)

big boys toys (6)

big boys toys (5)

Baby, you can drive my car
Yes, I’m gonna be a star
Baby, you can drive my car
And maybe I’ll love you

big boys toys (10)

big boys toys (8)

I told that girl that my prospects were good
And she said, “Baby, it’s understood
Working for peanuts is all very fine
But I can show you a better time”

big boys toys (11)

big boys toys (7)

Baby, you can drive my car
Yes, I’m gonna be a star
Baby, you can drive my car
And maybe I’ll love you

big boys toys (4)

big boys toys (3)

Beep beep’m, beep beep, yeah

big boys toys

Baby, you can drive my car
Yes, I’m gonna be a star
Baby, you can drive my car
And maybe I’ll love you

big boys toys (12)

Big boys toys

I told that girl, I can start right away
When she said, “Listen babe, I got something to say
I got no car and it’s breaking my heart
But I’ve found a driver and that’s a start”

big boys toys (13)

big boys toys (2)

Baby, you can drive my car
Yes, I’m gonna be a star
Baby, you can drive my car
And maybe I’ll love you

big boys toys (9)

Beep beep’m, beep beep, yeah
Beep beep’m, beep beep, yeah
Beep beep’m, beep beep, yeah
Beep beep’m, beep beep, yeah

Fantastic day out at the annual Greymouth Rodders Big Boys Toys Display at the weekend. Stunning weather, heaps of awesome cars, loads of spectators enjoying the day. A true petrol head haven and even for non petrol heads it was an impressive display. Looking forward to next year already!

Jan and Stephen run Breakers Boutique Accommodation on the Great Coast Road north of Greymouth. They enjoying sharing their adventures and all the fun things there are to see and do on the West Coast.

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in NZ Accommodation, outdoors, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Greymouth Rodders 40 Years 1973-2013 – Big Boys Toys Display

  1. Michael says:

    Stunning photos – amazing cars in Greymouth!

  2. coastingnz says:

    Thanks Michael. We thought surely some must have come from off the coast but no apparently you just don’t know what is hidden in some peoples sheds……. 🙂

  3. scott2608 says:

    Wow, great photos and cars!

  4. bulldog says:

    Brilliant share… I love old cars, maybe ’cause they all come from my days… beautiful photos…

    • coastingnz says:

      Thanks! I’m sure that has nothing to do with it – don’t think you are as old as you make out…… 🙂

      • bulldog says:

        into the sixtys

      • coastingnz says:

        We couldn’t believe the majority of the cars were local – just goes to show you – more petrol heads around than one realises and the little treasures hidden away…… Great they have the opportunity to bring them out and show them off – we’re super glad you organise it and they they participate. I was excited about the day since the Xmas parade when we were given a little sample. Awesome day Colin – thanks to you and your team. OOPS on wrong comment reply…..

      • bulldog says:

        It was my pleasure, and I think you might have given me too much credit for this… maybe you should post this comment to Colin… (laughing my head off)

  5. There is a certain elegance to old cars and the old car-buffs obviously turn them into a labor of love. But maybe its as Bulldog says. I had a 54 Chevy in my youth. It wasn’t new but it was a heck of a lot newer then that it would be now. 🙂 –Curt

    • coastingnz says:

      Elegance – that is a good description Curt. The love and care of these beauties is amazing. There were a couple there in the process of being restored and the owners enthusiasm when talking about their “babies” was awesome to see.

  6. Colin says:

    It was a great display. The biggest turn out of local cars and machinery in all the years we have been running this event.The locally owned jet powered go kart and jet powered world jet boat marathon winning boat were awesome to hear running. Colin, Greymouth Rodders.

    • coastingnz says:

      We couldn’t believe the majority of the cars were local – just goes to show you – more petrol heads around than one realises and the little treasures hidden away…… Great they have the opportunity to bring them out and show them off – we’re super glad you organise it and they they participate. I was excited about the day since the Xmas parade when we were given a little sample. Awesome day Colin – thanks to you and your team.

  7. ivonne90 says:

    I love these old cars, those have its own character

  8. Roscoe Shaub says:

    This was a fantastic read. Thank you for sharing it with us! Nowadays the internet is full of poor content but there is no doubt that you just spent long by editing this article. Again, appreciate your time and for your efforts!

Leave a Reply

