Greymouth Rodders 40th Anniversary Run Show Day


Whoop Whoop – it’s petrol head heaven time again.  Even if you’re not really a petrol head, this display of cars gets the blood flowing and puts a smile on the face.

Greymouth rodders run vehicle

When I wander around amongst these cars songs just pop into my head. Take it away Billy Ocean…….

Get outta my dreams, get into my car

Rodders run cars

Get into the backseat baby

buick greymouth rodders

Get into my car, Beep, beep, yeah

Car line up Greymouth Rodders

Lady driver, Let me take your wheel

Thunderbird Greymouth club display

Smooth operator, Touch my bumper (Bumper)

Lets make a deal, Make it Real………

Cars, cars, cars and more cars and oh such beauties.  You could tell they were all well-loved by their current owners as they were all in such amazing condition.

old cars greymouth rodders display

They gleamed, they glistened.

shining beautiies greymouth rodders

On to Bruce Springsteen for a while……

cadilac beauty

I know it was his pink Cadillac, crushed velvet seats
Riding in the back, cruising down the street

blue cadialac greymouth rodders

Waving to the girls, feeling out of sight
Spending all my money on a Saturday night
Honey I just wonder what you do there in the back of your pink Cadillac, pink Cadillac

(ok so this one was blue but still 🙂  )

Greymouth Rodders Run car display

I know some folks say, it’s too big, it uses too much gas
Some folks say it’s too old, and that it goes too fast

Greymouth Rodders Club display

But my love is bigger than a Honda, it is bigger than a Subaru

aptche in red greymouth rodders

Hey man there’s only one thing, and one car that will do
Anyway we don’t have to drive it, honey, we can park it out in back

red beauty greymouth rodders

The love and attention to detail with these vehicles is amazing – really a sight to behold.  Some of the paint jobs were just out of this world.

red hot dog greymouth rodders

hot dog hot rod greymouth rodders club

Not to mention the workmanship or perhaps craftmanship – some super talented people out there.

wooden car greymouth rodders

wooden car greymouth rodders display

I couldn’t decide on a favourite – I kept changing my mind, starting with the buttery coloured car I first saw (see not a true petrol head when I don’t even know what make of car it is – embarrassing!  Just like the look of it!).  Then to the Blue Thunderbird until I saw the red version………

red beauty greymouth rodders display

For Stephen though it was the Mustang first and foremost.

mustang greymouth rodders run

back end of mustang greymouth rodders run

Yeah ok, it is pretty nice too.

old truck line up

Big thanks to all the organisers from the Greymouth Rodders Club and to all the participants for sharing these fantastic vehicles for us all to see.

line up greymouth rodders

Petrol head heaven satisfied until the next time and personally I can’t wait 🙂

Jan and Stephen run Breakers Boutique Accommodation on the Great Coast Road north of Greymouth.  They enjoy getting out and about supporting local events and exploring the many things there are to see and do in the region.

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in outdoors, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Greymouth Rodders 40th Anniversary Run Show Day

  1. Pam says:

    These beautiful machines will always make me stop and stare. Brings back many a memory and they all that chrome..so beautiful.

    • coastingnz says:

      I was amazed at how shiny they all were – the paint job and polish was fantastic. Mentioned to one man (an owner) – you’d never want to take them out on the road and he said oh no they just a car at the end of the day I liked it!

  2. Bazza Morland says:

    Great shots and subject “Shakey” Stephen !

  3. Ngaire says:

    a car show, Wow!! had to be on the only Christmas that we didn’t come to visit. oh well, can’t win them all!! They really look awesome…
    Love Mama

  4. Got to love the classic cars. And I am smiling here, remembering some back seat adventures. 🙂 –Curt

  5. Jane says:

    Love these old cars. Built to last and oh, so stylish. 🙂

  6. Sarah says:

    I can remember growing up being amongst this while my parents were one of many behind the scenes making this show/week run happen every 2nd year. I am pleased to see that the name and the popularity of this event is still out there, and I hope to go back one day to be apart of it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

