Fat Biking Rapahoe Beach, Great Coast Road


There are lots of great mountain biking opportunities on the West Coast and with the right bike that includes mile after mile of pristine beaches.

What’s that song Freddy sings “fat bottom girls you make this rock’n world go round” – well in this case it is fat bikes!  Stephen and I both have fat bikes and we love them.  We take any excuse to go for a ride on them and they are ideal for exploring the numerous West Coast beaches.

biking great coast road Greymouth

biking rapahoe beach at 8 mile

Lucky for us is that many of the accessible beaches are really close to home – one being the Rapahoe beach just a little to the south.  With a quick ride down the main highway we’re soon pedaling along the water’s edge.  From the eight mile to Rapahoe is usually stony but once across the seven mile creek it’s a flat sandy beach into the corner of Point Elizabeth.

biking along rapahoe beach

A beautiful winter’s day cries out for a fat bike ride on the beach and who are we not to oblige…….

biking rapahoe beach as Tasman Sea comes in

Sun is shining and it feels more like a summer’s day than middle of winter.  The sea almost looking inviting enough to go for a swim – I did say almost.

biking rocky outcrop rapahoe beach

There are some fun rocky outcrops to muck about on and I want to say test your skill but with the fat bike you just roll over everything….. well just about everything.  Nicely captured hubby!  Actually no human was hurt in the making of this blog – I had actually stopped already and my foot slipped out from under me and… the rock was wet with a coating of slippery sand………. it did – it was!!!!!

Jan and Stephen run Breakers Boutique Accommodation on the Great Coast Road north of Greymouth.  They enjoy getting out and about and exploring this wonderful region they are lucky enough to call home.

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in beaches, cycling, Mountain biking New Zealand, outdoors, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fat Biking Rapahoe Beach, Great Coast Road

  1. bulldog says:

    Well done Stephen, the last capture was the best…. hell how do you get those fat takkies to turn,? Looks like you need a six cylinder ford engine… with the energy need for those bikes I’m sure the bakery is doing good business…
    I decided whilst building the golf course I needed a bike to keep me fit and to control the weight I put on from stopping the dreaded smoking… well I thought of you two when buying the bike, and also when I sold it again… damn that thing nearly killed me… I didn’t lose weight from riding the bike, but did from all the meat left on the ground after all the falls…. I will rather enjoy your escapades from the comfort of my comfy chair that has no intention of trying to shorten my life…
    Go well you two … by the way, hows the book doing?

    • coastingnz says:

      ooooh hello hello my long lost blogging friend. How absolutely wonderful to hear from you. Bummer about the bike – but good you at least gave it a go lol Well done too on stopping smoking – good job! The fat bike is surprisingly easy to ride – bit of a grind if on sealed road but otherwise it is great. Actually done quite a few hills on them and probably get up easier than normal bike – just rolls over everything so no problems with loose gravel, ruts that want to throw you etc. Periodically I think about the book – had a guest make a booking recently and after I’d sent some sightseeing info they commented I should write a guide that they’d buy it for sure. Maybe one day lol Anyway when you going to start blogging again – miss all your wildlife photos and witty comments to go with them. I know you’re busy with the golf course but just the odd photo or two. You made an impression with lots of people all over the world and put smiles on our faces and brightened our days who I’m sure would love to see you back in “print” . I know I would! 🙂 xo

  2. Pat says:

    I have never ridden a bike on the beach, that looks like so much fun! Really glad no humans were hurt. 🙂

    Jan, I hope you will forgive me for hijacking your blog to echo your comment to the Bulldog. I miss those lovely photos, also. And well done for quitting. I quit twenty years ago and it’s the best thing I ever did.

    • coastingnz says:

      You’ll have to put it on your “to do” list Pat – it is really is fun.
      No worries re “hijacking” my blog to comment to Bulldog – see Bulldog we all miss you!!! lol He assures me he will be back…… well done to you too on quitting smoking also, I’m in that same club 🙂

  3. Fat tired bikes have become popular at Burning Man. Like the beach, the tires are great for making it though deep dust on the Playa. –Curt

  4. Michael Nees says:

    Those bikes look worthwhile to try out at some stage. Seem them here at Mapua rental shop, so might give them a go! In the meantime… Happy biking Michael 🙂

  5. Mama says:

    Didn’t, realise you could ride your fat bikes over those rocks. They really are the coolest!! 🚴

Leave a Reply

