West Coast Wilderness Trail – Taramakau River to Kumara


On the bike again, just can’t wait to get on the bike again,the life I love is out riding with my friends (aka hubby) and I can’t wait to get on my bike again (thanks Willie Nelson)

green fern straight west coast wilderness trail

Well it has been a long time coming but I finally managed to get back on my bike.  For one reason or another I just didn’t get the time over the busy summer season but this morning with no guests due in for a change I said to Stephen let’s leave the cleaning and go for a ride.  He didn’t take any convincing.

Didn’t want to overexert myself on my first ride out so suggested we do some of the West Coast Wilderness Trail – Taramakau River to Kumara for lunch and then return.  Easy riding and not to far, about 20kms return.

enchanted forest west coast wilderness trail

We parked up at the Taramakau road/rail bridge and headed off.  The main section of this trail is an old tram-line and it is beautiful to say the least.

west coast wilderness trail kumara tramline

Running through the middle of the native forest for the most part but with pine trees amongst it also in sections – weird but actually kind of pretty to see the contrasting trees.

green ferns on tramline west coast wilderness trail

The ferns in here are gorgeous – and huge!  It was lovely with the light coming down through the trees as they just seemed to speak to the ferns.

kumara straight beside paddocks west coast wilderness trail

Part of the trail follows along the main state highway leading to Kumara.  Plenty of vegetation between you and the road though so it doesn’t really feel like you are that close.

On the other side of the trail is farm paddock – sometimes filled with cows.  We had one paddock with the most handsome of bulls – I know, but they were!  Otherwise the paddocks were empty today.

swingbridge kumara chasm west coast wilderness trail

Back in through some more native forest before negotiating the new swingbridge across the Kumara chasm.  This bridge is awesome!  Really cool today too as there were so many little fantails and tom tit birds fluttering about.

kumara theatre royal hotel

Bit more twisting and turning along the tram-line and we eventually come out in the little village of Kumara outside the Kumara Theatre Royal Hotel – our lunch destination.

After a quick bite to eat and something to drink it is time to turn around and do it all in reverse.

green ferns west coast wilderness trail

Doesn’t matter that we’re doing the exact same trail we rode in on, it is so lovely and seems quite different in the opposite direction but every bit as pretty.

Legs are starting to get a little tired – come on it was November that I was last on my bike!!!!

west coast wilderness trail in the bush

Times like this I’m super glad hubby is a photographer – stop now, wait, go back translates to rest, rest, rest 🙂

west coast wilderness trail taramakau to kumara

Back to Willie…… On the bike again, like a band of gypsies we go down the trail, we’re the best of friends, insisting that the world keep turning our way, our way. On my bike again, I’m so happy to be on my bike again…….

Well maybe until tomorrow when I think things might hurt a little – no pain no gain though eh!

Jan and Stephen run Breakers Boutique Accommodation on the Great Coast Road north of Greymouth.  They enjoy getting out and about and exploring the many wonders of the West Coast.  Click this link for further information regarding the West Coast Wilderness Trail.

About coastingnz

Jan and Stephen live on the Punakaiki coastline, north of Greymouth on the West Coast, NZ and run Breakers Boutique Accommodation. They both enjoy the outdoors and are passionate about things to see and do on the West Coast and would like to share their experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Mountain biking New Zealand, Nature, NZ flora and fauna, NZ history, outdoors, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to West Coast Wilderness Trail – Taramakau River to Kumara

  1. Will and Eko says:

    Great shots, it looks like you guys are biking through Jurassic Park.

  2. bulldog says:

    Brilliant photos Stephen, as usual, and nice to see you on the road again… posting book worthy posts

    • coastingnz says:

      Thanks Bulldog – did I tell you I wrote my opening page last week…. it’s a start…… 😉

      • bulldog says:

        Wow now I’m really excited…. it’s that opening I found the most difficult and when nearly finished I went back to it and touched it up…. but you’re on the go…. I’m so excited

      • coastingnz says:

        well it isn’t much – two short paragraphs so far but a thought came into my head so I wrote it down. It may be changed too but at least it is a start. Even got a Title 🙂

      • bulldog says:

        It is that start, that step off, that is so difficult… and now you have done just that… wonderful… now about that title, what is it?

  3. Wonderful ferns. One would almost expect to see a dinosaur or two. 🙂 –Curt

    • coastingnz says:

      They are so cool – we have 100s of them, actually more like 1000s but never get sick of them. Yes, one day I’m sure one will be munching on the foliage and I won’t be surprised lol

Leave a Reply

